View the Mobile Version of M+N

Record Reviews
Marcus Teague

Single Twin
Marcus Teague

13 Track, LP (2011, Remote Control Records)
Related: Single Twin.

Since the demise of Melbourne outfit Deloris, former frontman Marcus Teague has thrown himself into his long-time solo moniker Single Twin, a project which shares an overall thrust common to so many sideline efforts – namely a willingness to pursue indulgences and explore rabbit holes that might never have been fully penetrated without the protective cover of a new sobriquet.

The album’s greatest strength lies in Teague’s complex approach to songwriting and album sequencing: every word, line, stanza and song seems to complement the others, shading their meanings and contributing crucially to the whole. There are thoughtful medleys and often devastating juxtapositions, such as the one-two punch of gorgeous instrumental ‘Slow Down Soldier’ and ‘My Silken Tooth’, which shimmers, charges and retreats with nuance and depth. Teague’s talent as a musician is to hear how all his sounds essentially exist on the same spectrum. They’re earthy, unhurried, and occupied by a hypnotic kind of beauty – a counterweight to the impulse to make something glossy, agitated and, well, young.

My Silken Tooth by singletwin

There’s real space on this album, which is, at times, so lonesome and introverted that Teague’s flourishes of sound are less an accompaniment to his vocals than his fond memory of music half-remembered. By following a self-propelled creative process (the entire album was played, recorded and mixed at home by Teague himself on GarageBand over six or so years) Teague has been able to keep close control on the music, casting the songs as spare, lonely ruminations on lost love and lost opportunities. Yet there’s always dignity in his despondency, and there’s always something rumbling in the background of this album that means songs like the relatively spry ‘Dirty Sleeves on the Salty Water’ and ‘Get to Love You’ stand out all the more strongly for being so self-contained.

Dirty Sleeves In The Salty Water by singletwin

The albums sees Teague dial the pulse back down, favouring spacious songwriting that sets the lyrics front and centre. It’s a record full of stories, with the writer centring most of the tunes around simple narratives and offbeat characters. Expressing contemporary anxiety and alienation. Conflict, resolution, and character development often slip by unnoticed, eased in their passage by woozy atmospherics.

Indeed, Marcus Teague’s many subtleties means it can’t be enjoyed just anytime; it practically demands solitude. The tracks work as mood pieces as well as songs, and the mood is so consistent that it takes time for the craft of each composition to peer through; a silver lining on a gray morning.

by Jen Peterson-Ward

Related Artists

Your Comments

ghoti-max  said about 3 years ago:

Really lovely album...haven't listened to it for a while actually, nice reminder to pick it back out of the CD rack.

flukazoid  said about 3 years ago:

flukazoid  said about 3 years ago:

Sorry - more metadata needed for that link. That's Marcus playing ''My Single Tooth'' solo before a recent show on a rooftop in Sydney.

Great album.

magicpants  said about 3 years ago:

fully penetrated without the protective cover of a new sobriquet

ghoti-max  said about 3 years ago:

fully penetrated without the protective cover of a new sobriquet

Ha, yeah, been there! Am I right? High five anyone?

liamsnice  said about 3 years ago:

Single Twin is playing at The Old Bar this Sunday at around 10pm. Playing with BJ Morriszonkle and Jimmy Tait. $5. Doors are at 8pm.

poprocks96  said about 3 years ago:

Excellent lineup.

You need to be logged into Mess+Noise to contribute to the Releases.
Go on and Log In or if you you're not a member, feel free to Sign Up.

  • 1.   Fish In New Leaves
  • 2.   Came Home Dead
  • 3.   Dirty Sleeves In The Salty Water
  • 4.   Slow Down Soldier
  • 5.   My Silken Tooth
  • 6.   Wandering
  • 7.   Get To Love You
  • 8.   Smoke Trail On A Spring Day
  • 9.   The Blow (Fell Out The Window)
  • 10.   Long Wave
  • 11.   Goodnight
  • 12.   Hunter
  • 13.   Splinters and Seeds
Related M+N Content
Today On Mess+Noise